Plenty of Greens

I recently bought Yotam Ottolenghi’s second cookbook ‘Plenty’, a collection of vegetarian recipes taken, predominantly, from his Guardian Weekend Magazine column The New Vegetarian. Ottolenghi, hails from Israel, and his restaurants Ottolenghi and NOPI are best known for the freshest of ingredients, an abundant use of spices and simple and inspiring takes on creating healthy yet exciting dishes, where each ingredient takes on it’s own new lease of life – this passion shines throughout the entire book.

I was really looking forward to the arrival of this book in my life, not only because I think that Yotam Ottolenghi is an incredible chef, but also because (despite my love of all things Meat related) I can’t think of anything better than a rainbow coloured stack of gloriously dressed vegetables. I have already made 4 of the recipes from the book (split up into different categories of vegetables including ‘Roots’, ‘Capsicums’ and ‘Leaves Cooked and Raw’) and enjoyed making and eating all of them, particularly the Moroccan Carrot Salad whose fresh, light and delicately spiced flavour left me immediately hankering for a holiday.

It wasn’t until I spoke to a Vegetarian friend of mine whilst enjoying the obligatory Bank Holiday drink yesterday that I really fell for the book. Now this friend (and she won’t mind me saying this) is not much of a cook. Whilst living with her for 2 years I can safely say that her repertoire really only covered heating tomato and mascarpone sauce or covering soft noodles in broccoli and soy sauce. Suffice to say, Delia needn’t worry about her crown being stolen. However, this same friend purchased Plenty at the weekend and has already tackled 3 of the recipes and is absolutely loving it.

Have you bought this Recipe book? What about other books by Yotam Ottolenghi? I’d love to hear your thoughts…

Leave a Reply

